Because of Him

I lie down and sleep; I wake again because The Lord sustains me

Psalm 3:5

This verse describes my life, all of our lives completely. The Lord sustains us.

sustain
transitive verb
1. To keep in existence; maintain.
2. To supply with necessities or nourishment; provide for.
3. To support from below; keep from falling or sinking; prop.
4. To support the spirits, vitality, or resolution of; encourage.

I admit, I have so easily forgotten this important, vital idea. I’ve gone through out my everyday life busy and rushing. My goal was to accomplish whatever task was at the top of my daily to do list. The very fact that God had allowed my eyes to open and air to fill my lungs was constantly overlooked. Or if I did remember to thank him for waking me up, by the end of the day I’d forgotten he provided for me every step of the way.

Losing Aj 12 weeks ago, has not only been a time of deep sorrow. His loss has caused me to take an honest assessment of myself, my life, my purpose and my relationship with God. I’ve found places where I’m strong, but many areas where I am weak. I’ve realized that my life isn’t just for my enjoyment, but I was made for him. I was made by God, for God, and to bring God glory. All of the good moments, and even those tragic times, I am being molded, changed, encouraged, supported, supplied for by him for the advancement of his kingdom.

Because of God, I am living, breathing, walking and talking. I go to sleep and wake up again, simply because He sustains me.

2 thoughts on “Because of Him

Leave a Reply

